That One Time I Met Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is one of my very favorite authors. I have yet to read all of his books, but in the case of those that I have read I always find myself thinking that he couldn’t do better. And I am always wrong. His books are definitely not for everyone though, and I would not recommend them to just anyone. They are weird, and quirky and on occasion disturbing. In fact one of his books is called Trigger Warning22522808. I am one of those who this works for. You might not be, and that’s okay. But you need to understand that he is my version of a celebrity, so that, perhaps, you’ll better understand why my family and I waited in line to see him for 8 1/2 hours.

We were all incredibly excited, though my mom possibly less so because she was tired and a bit irate, and in my case at least felt like it was a dream and Neil Gaiman wouldn’t actually be at the end of the line. But he was!

It was actually about one or so in the morning when we got to meet him for a wonderful and brief couple of minutes. That being said we were all quite tired, especially Mr. Gaiman who had been there since the morning and didn’t leave until about 5 AM the next day. He was still incredibly nice though and seemed happy that we were all there for him and his new release. We gave him a pen we made on our lathe and he seemed to really appreciate that as well, or at least he acted like it and seemed to want to talk with us more than we were physically capable of at that point. I almost wish he had taken longer to sign his books, but not quite and all I can do is hope that I’ll get a chance to see him speak at some point. I would love it even if I just got to go to another of his signings.

Here are the books of mine that he signed:

  

2 thoughts on “That One Time I Met Neil Gaiman

  1. Kris August 25, 2015 / 9:27 am

    I wasn’t irate just very, very tired and quite cold. I was done with the line after about 4 hours but you really, really wanted to stay so we did.

    Like

  2. bellsiebooks August 26, 2015 / 5:40 am

    That sounds like a wonderful experience (even if you were tired!). I’d love to meet Neil Gaiman one day, he’s one of my favourite writers too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

