Pip Bartlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures by Maggie Stiefvater and Jackson Pearce

 Title: Pip Bartlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures 

Authors: Jackson  Pearce and Maggie Stiefvater (also the illustrator)

Published: April 28th, 2015

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads

From bestselling authors Maggie Stiefvater and Jackson Pearce comes an exciting new series full of magical creatures, whimsical adventures, and quirky illustrations.
Pip is a girl who can talk to magical creatures. Her aunt is a vet for magical creatures. And her new friend Tomas is allergic to most magical creatures. When things go amok—and they often go amok—Pip consults Jeffrey Higgleston’s Guide to Magical Creatures, a reference work that Pip finds herself constantly amending. Because dealing with magical creatures like unicorns, griffins, and fuzzles doesn’t just require book knowledge—it requires hands-on experience and thinking on your feet. For example, when fuzzles (which have an awful habit of bursting into flame when they’re agitated) invade your town, it’s not enough to know what the fuzzles are—Pip and Tomas also must trace the fuzzles’ agitation to its source, and in doing so, save the whole town.

Review

I’m going to apologize in advance for the number of times I use “cute” and other such words in this review. I was having trouble restraining myself…

I’ve been in love with this book since I first saw Maggie Stiefvater’s drawings for the cover on Facebook, I never did grow out of my love for the cute and cuddly. But now that I’ve actually read the book, I can say that with more conviction than after just seeing the cover and description.

Pip Bartlett is a sweet little girl, who reminds me of myself at age nine. She’s obsessed with animals, especially the magical ones and is determined to keep them all from harm. She also has a bit of a problem with rules when it comes to these animals, and gets herself into a bit of trouble now and then. She is the perfect protagonist for such a story, very lovable as well as generally entertaining (I don’t read too much middle grade nowadays but she is definitely one of my favorite protagonists among those that I have read).

Pip’s friend Tomas is also very enjoyable, as well as relatable especially for those who have allergies. And despite his uncertainty about magical creatures, which is admittedly largely allergy based, he tolerates them because of his friendship with Pip. Can I hear an “Aww..?” Well. Yes. Anyway Tomas is a very interesting character who I would have loved having as a best friend alongside Pip.  He’s nervous and does his best to follow the rules, but even so he still does his best to be brave for the sake of both Pip and the town’s resident Fuzzles, which is quite admirable if you ask me.

The story itself is also very cute, focusing mainly around the Fuzzles an adorable little magical creature species that is basically a fluff ball. It’s an overall easy read that I would definitely recommend to adults and kids alike. Not to mention, it’s supposed to be a series!

_____

More about the book and its creators:

Interested in hearing more about Pip? Check out the book’s offical page on Scholastic or visit Maggie Stiefvater and Jackson Pearce on their websites. (I don’t know about you, but sometimes I just love looking at author’s websites and seeing what they are up to on social media.)

Have you read Pip Bartlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures? For that matter have you read anything else by Jackson Pearce or Maggie Stiefvater?  

2 thoughts on “Pip Bartlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures by Maggie Stiefvater and Jackson Pearce

  1. Kris July 21, 2015 / 3:47 am

    I am way past middle grade books now but after your review I am curious to read this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

