The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R Carey

imageTitle: The Girl With All the Gifts

Author: M.R Carey

Published: January 14th, 2014

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Review

*Thanks to Hachette Book Group for the ARC review copy of this book via NetGalley*

I wasn’t expecting to read this book when I started it. Well I planned to read it, I just thought it would be entirely different. A monster in the guise of a little girl perhaps, I imagined that she wouldn’t know she was a monster (or superhuman thingie) but would have an extraordinary level of power that government officials would fear and wish to exploit. It was sort of like that, sort of, but much more powerful than I imagined it would be.

A group of people and one not so human person have to put aside their differences so that they can reach a safe haven. They were a largely diverse group of characters, young and old, dark and pale, crazy and reasonable. I enjoyed reading about all of them, though I think I may have hated Doctor more than I should have. Her character development did nothing to stop me from hating her and I just wanted to hide Melanie, the little girl, behind me and hiss at her aggressively. These were not cardboard characters to say the least, none of them were perfect and none flawed beyond recognition. They each believed in what they were doing, and that made them all the more powerful.

The plot was extraordinarily well paced, it never lost my interest or patience. There was a bit of a metaphor in there somewhere that still hasn’t left me behind, and grossed me out more than it should have. Actually the only thing I didn’t like about this book was the all too present scientific nature of it overall. This mostly bothered me because I didn’t know what all of the words meant, but I think that most people would have less trouble in that aspect than me. It’s a definite must for zombie fans everywhere.

2 thoughts on “The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R Carey

  1. Kris July 1, 2015 / 5:34 pm

    Nice review. Your review makes me want to read the book.

    Like

  2. Jean July 1, 2015 / 8:47 pm

    I’ve been getting a recommendation to read this book. After this review, I will read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

